Romantic songs

It’s way past midnight… and sleep’s eluding me. So, this is what I am doing- attempting  to translate a couple of classic Nepali songs sung by the maestro, Late Narayan Gopal aka Swor Samrat (vocal king)! I find it almost beyond my ability! (with my Nepali not being the best and English being okish)…finally, I also see the literal translation doesn’t have the poetic beauty of the song….Anyways, listening to his songs took me down memory lane. His songs are sad romantic kind. At one time I used to share the room with my aunty and she used to play his songs. Because I was a kid and not cerebrally and emotionally develped and experienced, I could not bear to hear his songs and used to wonder why anyone listened to ’em. I thought they were most depressive. Now ofcourse I get ’em and find ’em beautiful. One person aptly descibed his songs. “Heartbreaking and mesmerising”.

One of my favourites is ‘Euta manchhe Ko maya le”, the song translates to “one person’s love makes much difference in life”. ‘Parkhi Base aula bhane’, ‘yeti dherai maya’, ‘aljechha kyaare’, ‘kehi mitho baat gara’ and many others are equally unique. There are songs from all over the world which are technically better, more relatable, more meaningful and sung by immensely talented singers but I find myself time and again listening to his songs only and nothing else. This led me to wonder about the reason. It must be his singing voice, isn’t it the most soothing?.The music, lyrics, arrangements, nothing matters, I guess he just had to sing and it was par excellence. He kinda had that King Midas touch, turning everything he touched into gold. Or should I say he sang like an angel? And his voice is like a balm to human hearts whether they are hurting or not. 

Literal translation 
Ma ta Lali Gurans bhayechhu

Ma ta Lali Gurans bhayechhu (I’ve become
a red rhododendron)
Banai bhari fuli dinchhu (I’ll flower all over a forest)
Manai bhari fuli dinchhu (I’ll flower all over a heart)
Ma ta lali gurash bhayechhu

Faat harule kaslai pugchha ( Are plains enough for anyone?)
Bhir ma pani fulidinchhu (I’ll flower in the slopes too)
Khusi matra kaha hunchha (How can there  be happiness only?)
Pir ma pani fuli dinchhu (I’ll also flower in grief/pain)

Heri dine kohi bhaidiye (If there is anyone to see)
Nali vitra fuli dinchhu (I’ll flower within the drains)
Laai dine kohii vaidiye (If there is anyone to wear it)
Siudo vari fuli dinchhu (I’ll flower all over siudo)

Trivia: Red rhododendron is the national flower of Nepal. They grow in forests. Khaptad National park in western Nepal is the only place in the world which has over 26 varieties of the flower.

Timilai ma ke bhanu

Timilai ma ke bhanu (what do I say you are)
Phool bhanu ki Joon bhanu (shall I say flower or moon)
Upama dherai ma ke diu (what numerous titles shall I give)
Timilai mann ki mayalu bhanu (shall I say you are heart’s lovely)
Timilai ma ke bhanu (what do I say you are)

Phool phuleko mausamma (weather in which flowers are blooming)
Yo saanjhako sital batabaranma (this afternoon of cool environment )
Yo mannlai kasari samhaalu Ma ( how do I control this heart?)
Napee behos behos bhaye Ma ( without drinking am getting tipsy

Kahile nachhutne nasaa bhanu ki (shall I say unseverable addiction)
Phool bhanu ki Joon bhanu (shall I say flower or moon)
Upama dherai ma ke diu (what numerous titles shall I give)
Timilai mannki mayalu bhanu (shall I say you are my heart’s lovely)
Timilai ma ke bhanu

Kehi jhuke jhukeka nazar (some low lowered gaze)
Kehi bolna khojda kaapeka adhar (trembling lips while trying to speak)
Dui aankhaka gahira taal bich (within the deep lakes of the two eyes)
Nasaki tarna dube dube ma (being unable to cross it, I drowned)
Kahile nachhutne tirsana bhanu ki (shall I say inseparable intense desire)
Phool bhanu ki Joon bhanu
Upama dherai ma ke diu
Timilai mannki mayalu bhanu
Timilai ma ke bhanu

Euta mancheko mayale

Leave a Reply

